Virginia Law Makers Look to Make Adults who French Kiss a child younger than 13 Required to Register as a Sex Offender
Who is really looking out for your children?
A Class 1 misdemeanor??? How is an adult French kissing a child younger than 13 not a felony!!! Once again our elected officials not looking out for the children. Some VA Senators thought that the penalty was too harsh. Who are our law makers trying to protect, the children or the predators? What are they trying to do, go after the pedophile voting block?
Virginia law makers are looking to pass a law that will make adults have to register as a sex offender for those who French kiss a child younger than 13 years of age. Can we first just say, ICK!!
RICHMOND, Va. — Adults who French kiss a child younger than 13 would be required to register as a sex offender under legislation passed out of the General Assembly on Saturday.
Those convicted of tongue-kissing a child would be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
The House passed the legislation 96-1 and the Senate 39-0. It now heads to Gov. Timothy M. Kaine.
Del. Riley Ingram, R-Hopewell, introduced the legislation on behalf of a woman whose 10-year-old daughter was French-kissed by the 62-year-old husband of her babysitter. The only crime prosecutors could charge the man with was contributing to the delinquency of a minor, which did not require that he register as a sex offender.
The question arises as to why Virginia law makers think its ok for an adult to do the same to a 13, 14 or 15 year old. I guess children could count their blessings as many law makers as VA law makers did not think such conduct by an adult warranted a felony.
Ingram and other members of the House fought to make the crime a felony, but in the final day of the 2008 General Assembly session gave in to senators who thought that punishment was too harsh.